

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Date: 27 May 2022

Committee: Cabinet

Date: Wednesday, 8 June 2022

Time: 10.30 am

Venue: Shrewsbury Room, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury,

Shropshire, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting. The Agenda is attached

There will be some access to the meeting room for members of the press and public, but this will be limited for health and safety reasons. If you wish to attend the meeting please email democracy@shropshire.gov.uk to check that a seat will be available for you.

Members of the public will be able to access the live stream of the meeting by clicking on this link:

https://www.shropshire.gov.uk/Cabinet08June2022

Tim Collard – Assistant Director Legal and Governance

Members of Cabinet

Lezley Picton (Leader)
Gwilym Butler
Dean Carroll
Rob Gittins
Kirstie Hurst-Knight
Simon Jones
Cecilia Motley
Ian Nellins
Ed Potter

Your Committee Officer is:

Amanda Holyoak

Tel: 01743 257714 Email: amanda.holyoak@shropshire.gov.uk



AGENDA

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Disclosable Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare their disclosable pecuniary interests and other registrable or non-registrable interests in any matter being considered at the meeting as set out in Appendix B of the Members' Code of Conduct and consider if they should leave the room prior to the item being considered. Further advice can be sought from the Monitoring Officer in advance of the meeting.

3 Minutes (Pages 1 - 4)

To confirm the Minutes of the Meeting held on 27th April 2022, attached.

4 Public Question Time

To receive any questions from members of the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14. Deadline for notification is not later than 5.00 pm on Tuesday 31st May 2022.

5 Member Question Time

To receive any questions from Members of the Council. Deadline for notification is not later than 5.00 pm on Thursday 31st May 2022.

6 Scrutiny Items

7 Copthorne and Porthill 20mph Speed Limit Zone (Pages 5 - 56)

Lead Member – Councillor lan Nellins – Portfolio Holder for Climate Change, Natural Assets & The Green Economy

Report of Mark Barrow, Executive Director of Place, attached

Tel: 01743 258915

8 Economic Growth Strategy 2022-2027 (Pages 57 - 84)

Lead Member – Councillor Edward Potter – Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Economic Growth, Regeneration and Planning

Report of Mark Barrow, Executive Director of Place, attached

Tel: 01743 258915

9 Children's Services Key Performance Data (Pages 85 - 114)

Lead Member – Councillor Kirstie Hurst-Knight – Portfolio Holder for Children and Education

Report of Tanya Miles, Executive Director of People, attached

Contact: 01743 258674

Workforce Strategy 22/23 - 24/25 (Pages 115 - 166)

Lead Member – Councillor Gwilym Butler – Portfolio Holder for Finance and Corporate Resources

Report of James Walton, Executive Director of Resources, attached

Tel. 01743 257775

11 River Safety in Shropshire (Pages 167 - 178)

Lead Member – Dean Carroll – Portfolio Holder for Physical Infrastructure

Report of Mark Barrow, Executive Director of Place, attached

Tel. 01743 258915

Policy on the Release of Balloons and Sky Lanterns (Pages 179 - 182)

Lead Member – Ian Nellins – Portfolio Holder for Climate Change, Natural Assets & The Green Economy

Report of Mark Barrow, Executive Director of Place, attached

Tel. 01743 258919

Levelling Up Update (Pages 183 - 198)

Lead Member – Edward Potter – Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Economic Growth, Regeneration and Planning

Report of Mark Barrow, Executive Director of Place, attached

Tel. 01743 258919

14 Exclusion of Press and Public

To resolve that, in accordance with the provisions of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and Paragraph 10.4 [3] of the Council's Access to Information Rules, the press and public be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following items

15 Exempt Minutes of the Meeting held on 6 April 2022

To confirm as a correct record the exempt minutes of the meeting held on 6 April 2022, t follow	0